Posted by: Brynna Kaulback | April 27, 2013

Writing in Layers

Today:

Why do I write daily? This: “Writing daily forces you to come up with new ideas regularly, and so that forces you to solve the very important problem of where to get ideas. What’ s the answer to that problem? Ideas are everywhere! In the people you talk to, in your life experiments, in things you read online, in new ventures and magazines and films and music and novels. But when you write regularly, your eyes are open to these ideas.” Yes, there are some other reasons that involve audiences and persuasion, but for me this is the big one. To me, writing is like breathing. The only way to breathe in, is to breathe out.

by Leo Babauta http://zenhabits.net/write-daily

I am inspired by just having finished Alison Bechdel’s Are You My Mother? I love the genre of the graphic novel. Bechdel tracks so many layers of consciousness at the same time! Her dreams are on black pages. Her conversation with her mother on the phone (often in the background – or is it foreground) progresses at the same time as her thinking about Winnicott (psychoanalyst) or Virginia Woolf – or both and then bleeds into some childhood memory or a session with her own therapist! I wish I could draw – I would love to write this way.

My compromise is to renew my acquaintance with my blog. As Babauta says, above, writing is how I open myself to the ideas rotating in my mind. I write for myself, offline; I write my dissertation; but this could be a more open space, to get down the rotations – like Proprioceptive Writing.

Leave a Reply

Categories

